DEALS MONITOR

Deal of the Week

Each week our analysts go through the list of recently announced deal and select the most outstanding one to be awarded “Deal of the Week”.

The selection criteria are focused on the “whole picture” of the announced deal, such as raised investment, type of investment round, investors and further perspective of company development.

AWARDED DEAL ANNOUNCEMENTS 

11.10.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 42 |

2021

Rossum raises $100m in one of eastern Europe’s largest Series A rounds

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: General Catalyst LocalGlobe Miton Seedcamp Elad Gil (https://www.crunchbase.com/person/elad-gil)

04.10.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 41 |

2021

Elliptic raises USD 60M to accelerate safe adoption of cryptoassets by mainstream financial markets

Founded: 2013

Investment Raised: USD 60M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Wells Fargo Strategic Capital (https://www.wellsfargo.com/com/financing/strategic-capital/) Softbank Vision Fund (https://visionfund.com/) SignalFire (https://signalfire.com/) SBI Group (https://www.sbigroup.co.jp/english/) Paladin Capital Group (https://www.paladincapgroup.com/) Octopus Ventures (https://octopusventures.com/) Evolution Equity Partners (https://evolutionequity.com/) Digital Currency Group (https://dcg.co/) Albion VC (https://www.albion.vc/)

27.09.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 40 |

2021

Neumora raises $500M to target neuropsychiatric, neurodegenerative disorders

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 500M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: ARCH Venture Partners (https://www.archventure.com/) SoftBank (https://group.softbank/en) Waycross Ventures (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/waycross-ventures) Surveyor Capital (https://www.citadel.com/investment-strategies/surveyor-capital/) re.Mind Capital Polaris Partners Newpath Management Mubadala Capital

20.09.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 39 |

2021

1NCE raises USD 50 M for global expansion led by investors including SoftBank and Deutsche Telekom

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 50M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: SoftBank (https://group.softbank/en) Deutsche Telekom (https://www.telekom.com/de)

13.09.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 38 |

2021

Fantasy football platform Sorare raises $680 million

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 680M €

USD 4.3B

Valuation

Investors: SoftBank (https://group.softbank/en) LionTree (https://www.liontree.com/) IVP (https://www.ivp.com/) Headline (https://headline.com/) H14 (http://www.h14.it/) Futury Capital (https://www.futurycapital.vc/) Eurazeo (https://www.eurazeo.com/en) D1 Capital Partner (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/d1-capital-partners)

06.09.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 37 |

2021

Amsterdam’s Picnic raises €600M from Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Trust to build the most sustainable European grocery delivery company

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: EUR 600M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (http://www.gatesfoundation.org)

30.08.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 36 |

2021

Homeppl completes seven figure funding round

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: GBP 1M €

GBP 10Million

Valuation

Investors: European Super Angels Club (https://superangels.club/) ParticleX (https://particlex.com/)

23.08.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 35 |

2021

Scalable Capital founder backs crypto wealth app Coinpanion in €1.8m seed round

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: EUR 1,8M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: High-Tech Gründerfonds (https://www.htgf.de/en/)

16.08.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 34 |

2021

Atheneum nabs $150M to build out its ‘research as a service’ platform for virtual surveys and interviews

Founded: 2010

Investment Raised: USD 150M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Vogel Communication Group (https://www.vogel.de/) Michael Brehm (https://www.linkedin.com/in/michaelbrehm?originalSubdomain=de) Guidepost Growth Equity (https://guidepostgrowth.com/) Crosslantic Capital (https://www.crosslantic.com/)

09.08.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 33 |

2021

Hamburg-based Sport Alliance secures EUR 60m growth investment from PSG

Founded: 2011

Investment Raised: EUR 60M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: PSG (https://www.psgequity.com/)

02.08.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 32 |

2021

Largest Equity Funding Round for a European FBA Aggregator Announced as SellerX raises €100 ($118) Million led by L Catterton’s Growth Fund

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: L Catterton (https://www.lcatterton.com/) Sofina (https://www.sofinagroup.com/) Cherry Ventures (https://www.cherry.vc/) Felix Capital and 83NORTH

26.07.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 31 |

2021

After raising $54m in a Series B funding round, European online electronics marketplace Refurbed is planning to invest in Ireland.

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 54M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Evli Growth Partners (https://egp.fi/) Almaz Capital (https://almazcapital.com/) Speedinvest (https://www.speedinvest.com/) Bonsai Partners and All Iron Ventures (https://www.linkedin.com/company/all-iron-vc/?originalSubdomain=at) Hermes GPE (https://hermesgpe.com/) C4 Ventures (https://filrougecapital.com/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIttDqstGc8gIVhKZ3Ch2tuQzkEAAYAiAAEgKLsfD_BwE) SevenVentures (https://www.sevenventures.de/) Alpha Associates (https://alpha-associates.ch/) Monkfish Equity (Trivago Founders) (http://www.monkfish-equity.com/we-are/) Kreos Capital (https://www.kreoscapital.com/) Isomer Capital (https://isomercapital.com/)

19.07.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 30 |

2021

Solarisbank raises $224M at a $1.65B valuation to acquire Contis, expand API-based embedded banking tech in Europe

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 224M €

USD 1.65B

Valuation

Investors: BBVA (https://www.bbva.es/personas.html) Decisive Capital Management (https://www.decisive.com/) HV Capital (https://www.hvcapital.com/) Ilavska Vuillermoz Capital (https://ivc.fund/) Pathway Capital Management (https://pathwaycapital.com/) Vulcan Capital (https://vc4a.com/vulcan-capital/) Yabeo Capital (http://yabeo.de/de/home/)

12.07.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 29 |

2021

Soldo raises $180M for its business expense management platform

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 180M €

Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Temasek (https://www.temasek.com.sg/en/index) Sunley House Capital (https://www.adventinternational.com/) Citi Ventures (https://www.citi.com/ventures/) Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Battery Ventures (https://www.battery.com/) Dawn Capital (https://dawncapital.com/)

05.07.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 28 |

2021

Bunq Raises $228M; Valued at $1.9 Billion

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 228M €

USD 1.9B

Valuation

Investors: Pollen Street Capital (https://www.pollencap.com/)

28.06.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 27 |

2021

Austria’s Blockpit raises €8.4M to bring the necessary transparency to a blockchain-based financial market

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 8,4M €

Remains Undisclosed

Investors: MiddleGame Ventures (http://www.middlegamevc.com/) Fabric Ventures (https://www.fabric.vc/) Force over Mass Capital (https://www.fomcap.com/) Tioga Capital (https://tioga.capital/) Avaloq Ventures (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/avaloq-ventures) European Super Angels Club

21.06.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 26 |

2021

Czech Republic’s new unicorn: Online grocery delivery startup Rohlik raises €100M at €1B valuation

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: EUR 100M €

EUR 1 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Index Ventures Partech (https://partechpartners.com/) EBRD (The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development) (https://www.ebrd.com/home) J&T Banka (https://www.ebrd.com/home) Quadrille Capital (https://www.quadriga-capital.de/) R2G

14.06.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 25 |

2021

Vienna’s GoStudent raises $244M at a $1.7B valuation for its online tutor marketplace

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: EUR 205M €

EUR 1,4 Billion

Valuation

Investors: DST Global (https://dst-global.com/) SoftBank Vision Fund 2 (https://visionfund.com/) Tencent (https://www.tencent.com/en-us/index.html) Dragoneer (https://www.dragoneergrowth.com/) Coatue (https://www.coatue.com/) Left Lane Capital (https://www.leftlanecap.com/) DN Capital

07.06.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 24 |

2021

Uberall raises $115M and acquires MomentFeed to scale up its location marketing services

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 115M €

USD 500 Million

Valuation

Investors: Bregal Milestone (https://www.bregalmilestone.com/) Level Equity (https://www.levelequity.com/) United Internet (https://www.united-internet.de/) Uberall Management

31.05.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 23 |

2021

Crypto hardware wallet maker Ledger bags $380M funding

Founded: 2013

Investment Raised: USD 380M €

USD 1,5 Billion

Valuation

Investors: 10T Holdings (https://10tfund.com/) Alliance Entreprendre (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/alliance-entreprendre) Animoca Brands (https://www.animocabrands.com/) Ascendant Capital (https://ascendantcapital.com/) CapHorn Invest (https://caphorn.vc/) Cardinal Capital Partners Cathay Innovation (https://cathayinnovation.com/) CITA Investissement (http://www.cita-invest.com/) Crypto.com Capital (https://crypto.com/capital) Crédit Agricole Centre Loire (https://www.credit-agricole.fr/ca-centreloire/particulier.html) Cygni Capital Digital Currency Group (https://dcg.co/) Draper Associates (https://draper.vc/) Draper Dragon (http://draperdragon.com/home-en) Draper Esprit (https://draperesprit.com/) Fabric Ventures (https://www.fabric.vc/) Felix Capital (https://www.felixcap.com/) FirstMark (https://firstmarkservices.com/) Global Founders Capital (https://www.globalfounderscapital.com/) Groupe Arnault (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/groupe-arnault) iAngels (https://www.iangels.com/) Inherent Group (https://www.inherentgroup.com/) Korelya Capital (https://www.korelyacapital.com/) Libertus Capital (https://www.libertuscapital.com/) MACSF (https://www.macsf.fr/) Marcy Venture Partners Rosemoor Capital Management LLC (https://www.rosemoorcapital.com/) Scott Galloway Tekne Capital (https://www.teknecap.com/) The Maze Group (https://themazegroup.com/) Uphold (https://uphold.com/en-us) Warburg Serres Investments (https://www.warburgserres.com/) Wicklow Capital (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/wicklow-capital)

17.05.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 21 |

2021

Tractive raises $35 Million as it brings world’s most trusted GPS Tracker for dogs and cats to the U.S.

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 35M €

USD 3 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Guidepost Growth Equity (https://guidepostgrowth.com/)

10.05.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 20 |

2021

Berlin’s Trade Republic nabs $900M led by Sequoia at a $5B+ valuation to take its neobroker app across Europe

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 900M €

USD 5+ Billion

Valuation

Investors: Sequoia (https://www.sequoiacap.com/) TCV (https://www.tcv.com/) Thrive Capital (https://thrivecap.com/) Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Founders Fund (https://foundersfund.com/) Creandum (https://www.creandum.com/) Project A (https://www.project-a.com/)

03.05.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 19 |

2021

Huma raises $130 million financing to scale its digital health platform for better care and research

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 130M €

Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Bayer (https://www.bayer.com/de/) Hitachi Ventures (https://www.hitachi.com/) Samsung Next (https://www.samsungnext.com/) Sony Innovation Fund by IGV (https://www.sonyinnovationfund.com/portfolio/) Unilever Ventures (https://www.unileverventures.com/) HAT Technology & Innovation Fund by HAT (https://www.hat.it/it/businesses/private-equity/hat-technology-innovation-fund) Business Angel

26.04.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 18 |

2021

Neuroelectrics gets $17M for new take on electrical therapy for epilepsy, depression

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 17,5M €

Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Morningside (https://morningside.com/) MassChallenge (https://masschallenge.org/)

19.04.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 17 |

2021

Brex hits $7.4bn valuation on $425m funding round

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 425M €

USD 7,4 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Tiger Global TCV GIC Baillie Gifford Madrone Capital Partners Durable Capital Partners LP Valiant Capital Management Base10 Y Combinator Continuity Ribbit Capital DST Global Greenoaks Capital Lone Pine Capital IVP