DEALS MONITOR

Deal of the Week

Each week our analysts go through the list of recently announced deal and select the most outstanding one to be awarded “Deal of the Week”.

The selection criteria are focused on the “whole picture” of the announced deal, such as raised investment, type of investment round, investors and further perspective of company development.

AWARDED DEAL ANNOUNCEMENTS 

23.10.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 43 |

2023

Canary Wharf Group raised £400M / Series Unknown from Brookfield Asset Management and Qatar Investment Authority

Founded: 2001

Investment Raised: GBP 300M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Brookfield Asset Management and Qatar Investment Authority

16.10.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 42 |

2023

Zygon raises $3M in seed funding to create security solutions for the SaaS era

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 3M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Axeleo Capital (https://www.axeleo.com/) Kima Ventures (https://www.kimaventures.com/)

09.10.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 41 |

2023

Agomab Raises $100 Million Series C to Advance Fibrosis-focused Pipeline

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: AdBio partners (https://adbio.partners/) Andera Partners (https://www.anderapartners.com/en/) Canaan Partners (https://www.canaan.com/) Cormorant Asset Management Dawn Biopharma (https://dawnpharma.com/) EQT life science (https://eqtgroup.com/private-capital/life-sciences/) Fidelity Management and Research Company (https://www.fidelity.com/about-fidelity/our-company) Pfizer (https://www.pfizer.de/) Pontifax (https://www.pontifax.com/) Redmile Group (https://redmilegroup.com/) Walleye Capital (https://www.walleyecapital.com/)

02.10.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 40 |

2023

Partners Group to invest up to $1.05bn in Exus

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 1.05 bn €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Partners Group (https://www.partnersgroup.com/en/)

25.09.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 39 |

2023

Nord Security strengthens cybersecurity hold with $100m investment

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 100m €

USD 3bn

Valuation

Investors: Warburg Pincus (https://warburgpincus.com/) Novator Ventures (https://novator.co.uk/) Burda Principal Investments (https://www.burdaprincipalinvestments.com/)

18.09.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 38 |

2023

Curve raises GBP 58 million in funding round

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: GBP 58m €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Britannia (https://www.britannia.ventures/) Cercano Management (https://www.cercanolp.com/) Cohen Circle (https://cohencircle.com/) IDC Ventures (https://idcventures.com/) Outward VC (https://outwardvc.com/)

11.09.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 37 |

2023

Verkor raises 2 billion euros for Dunkirk EV gigafactory

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 2B €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: A&G Energy Transition Tech Fund Accenture Ventures Claret Capital Partners ETF Partners Kheng Nam Lee Santander Climate Tech Fund Taavet Hinrikus Trill Impact

04.09.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 36 |

2023

H2 Green Steel raises €1.5 billion in equity to build the world’s first green steel plant

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 1.5B €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Altor (https://altor.com/) AMF (https://www.amf.se/en/) Andra AP-fonden (https://www.ap2.se/en/) Cristina Stenbeck FAM AB (https://www.fam.se/) GIC (https://www.gic.com.sg/) Hitachi Energy (https://www.hitachienergy.com/) Hy24 (https://hy24partners.com/) IMAS Foundation (https://imasfoundation.org/) Just Climate (https://www.justclimate.org/) Kinnevik (https://www.kinnevik.com/) Schaeffler Group (https://www.schaeffler.com/) Temasek Holdings (https://www.temasek.com.sg/) Vargas Holdings (https://vargasholdings.com/)

28.08.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 35 |

2023

Teale, your mental health companion at work, raises $11 million

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: USD 11M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Alter Equity 3P (https://www.alter-equity.com/) Bpifrance Digital Venture (https://www.bpifrance.fr/)

14.08.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 33 |

2023

Exor takes 15% stake in Philips for around €2.6 billion

Founded: 1891

Investment Raised: EUR 2,6 B €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: EXOR N.V. (https://www.exor.com/)

07.08.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 32 |

2023

RFA Raises €30M  Funding

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 30M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Kohlberg Kravis Roberts (https://www.kkr.com/)

19.06.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 25 |

2023

Vyoma Raises €8.5M Seed Funding

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 8M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Atlantic Labs (https://atlanticlabs.de/) Happiness Capital (https://www.happinesscapital.com/) Safran Corporate Ventures (https://www.safran-group.com/)

12.06.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 24 |

2023

AI Video Creation Pioneer Synthesia Raises $90 Million Series C Led by Accel

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 90M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Alex Wang Amjad Masad FirstMark (https://firstmark.com/) Google Ventures (https://www.gv.com/) Kleiner Perkins nVentures (https://nventures.co.uk/contact-us) Olivier Pomel

22.05.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 21 |

2023

Dutch fintech Klearly raises €2.1 million and officially launches its payments app in the Netherlands

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 2M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Antler (https://www.antler.co/) Global PayTech Ventures (https://gptventures.com/)

15.05.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 20 |

2023

3D Spark secures 1,2 Millionen

Founded: 2021

Investment Raised: EUR 1M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: FTTF (https://www.fttf.fraunhofer.de/) Jörg Fanger

08.05.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 19 |

2023

wefox Secures $55m in Equity Raised from Existing and New Investors as a Closing of the Series D

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 55M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Squarepoint Capital (https://www.squarepoint-capital.com/)

01.05.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 18 |

2023

JOLT Energy receives €150 million investment from InfraRed to start building urban ultra-fast charging network

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 150M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: InfraRed Capital Partners (https://www.ircp.com/)

24.04.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 17 |

2023

Energy Dome Closes 40 Million Euro Series B Financing Round

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 40M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 360 Capital (https://www.360cap.vc/) Barclays Sustainable and Impact Banking (https://www.cib.barclays/solutions/esg-sustainability-transition.html?cid=paidsearch-textads_google_google_business_branded_uk-we_brand_esg_capabilities_1392745704913&gclid=Cj0KCQjw3a2iBhCFARIsAD4jQB1iCEPDfyxQZGXEDk46FCixebALy9HiQW4ywQbM46VDTtQXp8FpurQaAhRZEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds) CDP Venture Capital (https://www.cdpventurecapital.it/cdp-venture-capital/en/home.page) Elemental Excelerator (https://elementalexcelerator.com/) Eni Next (https://www.eni.com/eninext/en-US/home.html) Invitalia (https://www.invitalia.it/) Japan Energy Fund (https://www.japanenergyfund-ventures.com/) Neva SGR (https://www.nevasgr.it/) Novum Capital Partners (https://www.novumcapital.com/en/)

17.04.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 16 |

2023

Solar Utility Sunvigo raises EUR 20 million

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 20M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Eneco Ventures (https://www.eneco.com/wat-we-doen/ventures/) Future Energy Ventures (https://futureenergy.com/) High-Tech Grunderfonds (http://www.htgf.de/en) Sparta Capital (http://www.spartacapital.com/) Triodos Investment Management (http://www.triodos-im.com/) Übermorgen Ventures (https://www.uebermorgen.vc/)

10.04.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 15 |

2023

Quantica adds €14 million to further push its 3D printing tech

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: EUR 14M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: byFounders (https://www.byfounders.vc/) Scale Capital (https://www.scalecapital.com/)

03.04.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 14 |

2023

4.screen Raises €21M in Series A Funding

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 21M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: BayBG Venture Capital (https://www.baybg-vc.de/) Bram Schot Continental (https://www.continental.com/) FRIBA Investment (https://www.linkedin.com/company/friba-investment/) Matthias Müller S4S Ventures (https://www.s4sventures.com/) Summiteer (https://www.summiteer.com/)

27.03.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 13 |

2023

Crypto Wallet Company Ledger Announces $108M in Extended Series C Funding

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: USD 108M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 10T Holdings CapHorn Invest Cathay Innovation (https://www.cathayinnovation.com/) Cite Gestion (https://www.citegestion.com/) Digital Finance Group (DFG) (https://dfg.group/en/) Korelya Capital (https://www.korelyacapital.com/) Molten Ventures Morgan Creek Capital Management (https://www.morgancreekcap.com/) True Global Ventures (TGV) VaynerFund (https://vaynerx.com/)

20.03.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 12 |

2023

Germany-based DeepDrive bags €15M to develop ‘revolutionary’ drive units for Evs

Founded: 2021

Investment Raised: EUR 15M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Bayern Kapital (https://www.bayernkapital.de/) BMW i Ventures (https://www.bmwiventures.com/) co-pace (https://co-pace.com/) Peter Mertens UVC Partners (https://www.uvcpartners.com/)

13.03.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 11 |

2023

Amarenco raises €300m and buys out key JV partner

Founded: 2013

Investment Raised: EUR 300M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Arjun Infrastructure Partners (https://www.arjuninfrastructure.com/)

06.03.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 10 |

2023

Automotive payments fintech bezahl.de NX Technologies raises €11 million in Series A funding round

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 11M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Carcharodon Capital (https://www.carcharodoncapital.com/) Ingo Weber Motive Partners (https://www.motivepartners.com/) Motive Ventures (https://motivepartners.com/motive-ventures/) Rolf Christof Dienst Wessel Management (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/wessel-management/company_financials)

27.02.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 9 |

2023

StudentFinance secures $41 million to help Europeans upskill for in-demand jobs

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 41M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Armilar Venture Partners (https://www.armilar.com/) Ed Vaizey Giant Ventures (https://www.giant.vc/) Iberis Capital (https://iberiscapital.com/) Martin Villig Mustard Seed Maze (https://mustardseed.vc/mustard-seed-maze) Seedcamp (https://www.seedcamp.at/) Tom Blomfield

20.02.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 8 |

2023

Quantum Motion raises £42m in record-breaking round

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: GBP 42M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: British Patient Capital (https://www.britishpatientcapital.co.uk/) Inkef (https://medium.com/inkef-capital) IP Group (https://www.ipgroupplc.com/) National Security Strategic Investment Fund Octopus Ventures (https://octopusventures.com/) Oxford Science Enterprises (https://www.oxfordscienceenterprises.com/) Parkwalk Advisors (https://parkwalkadvisors.com/) Porsche Automobil Holding (https://www.porsche-se.com/unternehmen/ueber-uns/) Robert Bosch Venture Capital (https://www.rbvc.com/)

13.02.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 7 |

2023

Credit Suisse leads $65 million Series B in digital asset firm Taurus

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 65M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Arab Bank (Switzerland) (https://www.arabbank.ch/) Cedar Mundi Ventures (http://cedarmundi.com/) Credit Suisse (https://www.credit-suisse.com/ch/de.html) Deutsche Bank (https://www.deutsche-bank.de/pk.html) Investis Group (https://www.investisgroup.com/) Pictet Private Equity Investors S.A. (https://www.pictet.com/)

06.02.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 6 |

2023

ABB E-mobility raises additional CHF325 million from four investors in second and final round of pre-IPO private placement

Founded: 2010

Investment Raised: CHF 325M €

CHF 2.38B

Valuation

Investors: Beyond Net Zero (https://beyond-net-zero.com/) GIC (https://www.gic.com.sg/) Just Climate (https://www.justclimate.com/) Porsche Automobil Holding (https://www.porsche-se.com/unternehmen/ueber-uns/)

30.01.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 5 |

2023

Matchesfashion owner attracts £40m in equity to keep online retailer in shape

Founded: 1987

Investment Raised: GBP 40M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Apax Partners (https://www.apax.com/)