DEALS MONITOR

Deal of the Week

Each week our analysts go through the list of recently announced deal and select the most outstanding one to be awarded “Deal of the Week”.

The selection criteria are focused on the “whole picture” of the announced deal, such as raised investment, type of investment round, investors and further perspective of company development.

AWARDED DEAL ANNOUNCEMENTS 

16.05.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 21 |

2022

Car Subscription Platform FINN Raises $110M In Equity and $720M In Debt To Supercharge Its Growth in the U.S. and Europe

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 110M €

USD 390M

Valuation

Investors: Climb Ventures (https://climbventures.com/) Greentrail Capital (https://www.greentrailcap.com/) Heartcore Capital (https://www.heartcore.com/) HV Capital (https://www.hvcapital.com/) Keen Venture Partners (https://www.keenventurepartners.com/) Korelya Capital (https://www.korelyacapital.com/) Picus Capital (https://www.picuscap.com/) UVC Partners (https://www.uvcpartners.com/) Waterfall Asset Management (https://www.waterfallam.com/) White Star Capital (https://whitestarcapital.com/)

09.05.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 20 |

2022

Elwood Technologies Closes $70M Series A co-Led by Goldman Sachs and Dawn Capital

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: USD 70M €

USD 430M

Valuation

Investors: Barclays (https://home.barclays/news/2019/2/barclays-uk-ventures--developing-business-models-for-the-future-/) BlockFi (https://blockfi.com/) Chimera Investment (https://www.chimerareit.com/websites/chimera/English/1000/investor-relations.html) CommerzVentures (https://commerzventures.com/) Dawn Capital (https://dawncapital.com/) Digital Currency Group (https://dcg.co/) Flow Traders (https://www.flowtraders.com/) Galaxy Digital (https://www.galaxydigital.io/) Goldman Sachs (https://www.goldmansachs.com/)

02.05.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 19 |

2022

UK climate tech firm Carbon Clean gets £121m boost from US oil giant

Founded: 2009

Investment Raised: GBP 121M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: AXA Investment Managers (https://www.axa-im.com/) Cemex Ventures (https://www.cemexventures.com/) Chevron (https://www.chevron.com/) Marubeni (https://www.marubeni.com/en/) Samsung Ventures (https://www.samsungventure.co.kr/english/jsp/investment/sector.jsp) Saudi Aramco Energy Ventures (https://aramcoventures.com/) TC Energy (https://www.tcenergy.com/) WAVE Equity Partners (https://waveep.com/)

25.04.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 18 |

2022

Just six months after raising €9.5M seed round, fintech startup kevin. raises €61.8M Series A led by Accel

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 61.82M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Amit Jhawar Eurazeo (https://www.eurazeo.com/en) Global PayTech Ventures (https://gptventures.com/) Harry Stebbings Ilkka Paananen OpenOcean (https://openocean.finance/) OTB Ventures (https://otb.vc/) Speedinvest (https://www.speedinvest.com/)

18.04.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 17 |

2022

SonarSource, the Leading Platform for Clean Code, Raises $412 Million in New Investment

Founded: 2008

Investment Raised: USD 412M €

USD 4.3B

Valuation

Investors: Advent International (https://www.adventinternational.com/) General Catalyst (https://www.generalcatalyst.com/) Insight Partners (http://insightpartners.com) Permira (https://www.permira.com/)

11.04.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 16 |

2022

Gravity Sketch draws $33M for a platform to design, collaborate on and produce 3D objects

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: USD 33M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Forward Partners Kevin Durant Kindred Capital (https://kindredcapital.vc/) Paul Robson Point Nine (https://www.pointnine.com/) Rich Kleiman Soleio Cuervo Will Smith

04.04.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 15 |

2022

Wagestream Announces $175M Series C to Expand its Financial Wellbeing App to 30 Million U.S. Frontline Workers

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 175M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Balderton Capital (https://www.balderton.com) BlackRock (https://www.blackrock.com/corporate/global-directory) Fair By Design Fund (https://fairbydesign.com/fair-by-design-fund/) LocalGlobe (https://localglobe.vc) Northzone (https://northzone.com) QED Investors (https://www.qedinvestors.com) Silicon Valley Bank (https://www.svb.com) Smash Capital (https://smashcap.com) Village Global (https://www.villageglobal.vc) XYZ Venture Capital (https://www.xyz.vc)

28.03.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 14 |

2022

Climeworks raises CHF 600 million in latest equity round

Founded: 2009

Investment Raised: CHF 600M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Baillie Gifford (https://www.bailliegifford.com) BigPoint Holding (https://www.bigpoint.net) Carbon Removal Partners (https://www.carbonremovalpartnership.net) GIC (https://www.gic.com.sg) Global Founders Capital (https://www.globalfounderscapital.com) John Doerr M&G Investments (https://www.mandg.com/investments/gb) Partners Group (https://www.partnersgroup.com/en/) Swiss RE (https://www.swissre.com)

21.03.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 13 |

2022

Yokoy, a Spend Management Automation Platform, Welcomes Sequoia Capital-Led $80M Series B

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 80M €

USD 420M

Valuation

Investors: Balderton Capital (https://www.balderton.com) Left Lane Capital (https://www.leftlanecap.com) Sequoia Capital (https://www.sequoiacap.com) SIX FinTech Ventures (https://www.six-group.com/en/company/innovation/start-ups.html) Speedinvest (https://www.speedinvest.com) Swisscom Ventures (https://ventures.swisscom.com) Visionaries Club (https://visionaries.vc) Zinal Growth (https://www.zinal.com/)

14.03.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 12 |

2022

Berlin’s Leapsome welcomes $60 million in first-ever funding round

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 60M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Creandum (https://www.creandum.com) Insight Partners (https://www.insightpartners.com) Visionaries Club (https://visionaries.vc)

07.03.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 11 |

2022

Getir is now worth nearly $12 billion after raising another $768 million

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 768M €

USD 11.8B

Valuation

Investors: Abu Dhabi Growth Fund (https://www.adg.ae/) Alpha Wave Global (https://www.alphawaveglobal.com/) Mubadala (https://www.mubadala.com/) Sequoia Capital (https://www.sequoiacap.com/) Tiger Global Management (https://www.tigerglobal.com/)

28.02.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 10 |

2022

Norway’s Tibber brings home $100 million in Summa Equity-led round

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Balderton Capital (https://www.balderton.com/) Eight Roads Ventures Schibsted (https://schibsted.com/) Summa Equity (https://summaequity.com/)

21.02.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 9 |

2022

Payhawk becomes first-ever Bulgarian unicorn after raising $100M

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

USD 1B

Valuation

Investors: Sprints Capital (https://sprintscap.com/) Endeavor Catalyst (https://endeavor.org/) HubSpot Ventures (https://www.hubspot.com/ventures) Jigsaw VC (https://jigsaw.vc/) Greenoaks (https://www.greenoaks.com/) QED Partners (https://www.qedinvestors.com/) Earlybird Digital East (https://www.moltenventures.com/seed-funds/earlybird)

14.02.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 8 |

2022

Scalapay, now a unicorn, raises $497M Series B and enters the checkout market

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 497M €

USD 787M

Valuation

Investors: Deimos Capital (https://www.deimocapital.com/) Fasanara Capital (https://www.fasanara.com/) Moore Capital (https://www.moorecap.com/login) Tencent (https://www.tencent.com/en-us) Tiger Global Management (https://www.tigerglobal.com/) Willoughby Capital (https://www.willcapllc.com/) Rakesh Gangwal

07.02.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 7 |

2022

SpliceBio Raises EUR 50M in Oversubscribed Series A Financing to Advance Protein Splicing Platform and Expand Gene Therapy Pipeline

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: EUR 50M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Asabys Partners (https://asabys.com/) Gilde Healthcare (https://gildehealthcare.com/) New Enterprise Associates (https://www.nea.com/) Novartis Venture Fund (https://www.nvfund.com/) UCB Ventures (https://www.ucbventures.com/) Ysios Capital (https://ysioscapital.com/)

31.01.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 6 |

2022

Vivid Money, a financial super app, raises $114M at an $886M valuation to expand in Europe

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 100M €

USD 675M

Valuation

Investors: Greenoaks (https://www.greenoaks.com/) Ribbit Capital (https://ribbitcap.com/) SoftBank Vision Fund (https://visionfund.com/)

24.01.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 5 |

2022

Wayflyer hits unicorn status, raising $150m to support eCommerce businesses globally

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 150M €

USD 1.45B

Valuation

Investors: Counterpart Advisors (https://counterpartadvisors.com/) DST Global (https://dst-global.com/) JP Morgan (https://www.jpmorgan.com/AT/en/about-us) Left Lane Capital (https://www.leftlanecap.com/) Madrone Capital Partners (https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/madrone-capital-partners) Prosus Ventures (https://www.prosus.com/ventures) QED Investors (https://www.qedinvestors.com/) Guillaume Pousaz

17.01.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 4 |

2022

Identity verification provider Veriff raises $100M Series C co-led by Tiger Global and Alkeon

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

USD 1.4B

Valuation

Investors: Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Alkeon Capital (https://www.alkeoncapital.com/) Institutional Venture Partners (https://www.ivp.com/) Tiger Global Management (https://www.tigerglobal.com/)

10.01.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 3 |

2022

Dream Games Raises $255m at $2.75bn Valuation – as Royal Match Becomes One of the World’s Top Grossing Mobile Games

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 255M €

USD 2.75B

Valuation

Investors: Index Ventures (https://www.indexventures.com/) Makers Fund (https://makersfund.com/) funds and accounts managed by BlackRock IVP Kora Balderton Capital (https://www.balderton.com/)

03.01.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 2 |

2022

Fintech firm Checkout.com‘s valuation touches $40 bln after latest funding

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 1Billion €

USD 40 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Tiger Global Management (https://www.tigerglobal.com/) Altimeter Dragoneer (https://www.dragoneergrowth.com/) Franklin Templeton (https://www.franklintempleton.com/) Singapore’s GIC Qatar Investment Authority (https://www.qia.qa/en/Pages/default.aspx) Oxford Endowment Fund (https://www.ouem.co.uk/the-oxford-endowment-fund/)

20.12.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 52 |

2021

Ready Player Me, a metaverse avatar platform, raises $13M in funding

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: USD 13 M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Taavet+Sten (https://taavetsten.com/) Konvoy Ventures (https://www.konvoy.vc/) NordicNinja (https://nordicninja.vc/) and Tom Preston-Werner

13.12.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 51 |

2021

Swedish startup Voi raises over €101 million to deliver safe and sustainable micromobility for everyone

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 101,8 M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Raine Group (https://raine.com/) VNV Global (https://www.vostoknewventures.com/) Inbox Capital Nordic Ninja (https://nordicninja.vc/) Stena Sessan (https://stenasessan.se/) Kreos Capital (https://www.kreoscapital.com/) Ilmarinen Nineyards Equity ICT Capital (https://www.ict-cap.com/) and others

06.12.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 50 |

2021

Infarm raises $200m to support global expansion of vertical farms

Founded: 2013

Investment Raised: USD 200M €

USD 800M

Valuation

Investors: Atomico (https://atomico.com/) Bonnier Ventures (https://bonnierventures.com/) Hanaco Venture Capital (https://hanacovc.com/) Lightrock (https://www.lightrock.com/) Partners in Equity (https://www.pi-equity.com/) Qatar Investment Authority

29.11.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 49 |

2021

Berlin-based online grocery delivery firm Flink secures €664M at €2.52B valuation, eyes international expansion

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 664 M €

EUR 2.52 Billion

Valuation

Investors: DoorDash (https://www.doordash.com/) Mubadala Capital (https://www.mubadala.com/en/what-we-do/capital)

22.11.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 48 |

2021

Jobandtalent Secures $500m in Series E Fundraising Round to Accelerate Expansion

Founded: 2009

Investment Raised: USD 500 M €

USD 2.35 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Kinnevik (https://www.kinnevik.com/) SoftBank VisionFund 2. Atomico (https://atomico.com/) Infravia (https://infraviacapital.com/) Kibo (https://kibo-capital.com/) Quadrille (https://www.quadrillecapital.com/)

15.11.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 47 |

2021

IONITY secures €700M from BlackRock, others to expand its EV charging network across Europe

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 700 M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Black Rock

08.11.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 46 |

2021

Ethereum Infrastructure Company ConsenSys raises $200 Million at $3.2 Billion Valuation

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: USD 200 M €

USD 3.2 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Marshall Wace (http://www.mwam.com/) Third Point Ventures ParaFi Capital (http://www.parafi.capital) Think Investments Animoca Brands (http://www.animocabrands.com) Coinbase Ventures (https://www.coinbase.com/de/ventures) HSBC (http://www.hsbc.com) Spartan Group Electric Capital (http://electriccapital.com/) Dragonfly Capital Partners Defiance Capital

01.11.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 45 |

2021

Berlin’s Razor Group raises $125M at a $1B+ valuation for a platform to buy and scale third-party Amazon merchants

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: USD 125 M €

USD +1 Billion

Valuation

Investors: Redalpine (http://www.redalpine.com) Presight Capital (http://www.presight.vc/) Jebsen Capital Global Founders Capital (http://www.globalfounderscapital.com) 468 Capital

25.10.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 44 |

2021

German investing start-up Moonfare raises $125m in Series C round

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 125 M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Insight Partners Fidelity International Strategic Ventures (http://www.fisv.com/)

18.10.2021

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 43 |

2021

TIER raises $200 million in Series D round at $2 billion valuation

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: EUR 171,4M €

EUR 1,5 Billion

Valuation

Investors: SoftBank Vision Fund 2 (https://visionfund.com/) Mubadala Capital M&G Investments.