DEALS MONITOR

Deal of the Week

Each week our analysts go through the list of recently announced deal and select the most outstanding one to be awarded “Deal of the Week”.

The selection criteria are focused on the “whole picture” of the announced deal, such as raised investment, type of investment round, investors and further perspective of company development.

AWARDED DEAL ANNOUNCEMENTS 

23.01.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 4 |

2023

France-based PASQAL bags €100M to build quantum computers with atoms and laser

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: EUR 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Bpifrance (https://www.bpifrance.com/) Daphni (https://www.daphni.com/) EIC Fund (https://eic.ec.europa.eu/investment-opportunities_en) Eni Next (https://www.eni.com/eninext/en-US/home.html) Quantonation (https://www.quantonation.com/) Saudi Aramco Entrepreneurship Ventures (https://aramcoventures.com/) Temasek Holdings (https://www.temasek.com.sg/en/index)

16.01.2023

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 3 |

2023

Fintech Anyfin raises €30 million Series C funding to further accelerate expansion across Europe

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: EUR 30M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Augmentum Fintech (https://augmentum.vc/) Capricorn Capital Partners (https://capricorncapital.com/uk/) Citi Ventures (https://www.citi.com/ventures/) EQT Ventures (https://eqtventures.com/) FinTech Collective (https://fintech.io/) Northzone (https://northzone.com/) Quadrille Capital (https://www.quadrillecapital.com/)

05.12.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 50 |

2022

Acin, the global operational risk control data network, today announced it has closed $24 million in Series B funding from a strategic consortium of industry-leading banks, comprised of JP Morgan, Citi, BNP Paribas, Barclays, and Lloyds Banking Group

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 24M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Barclays Corporate Banking (https://www.barclayscorporate.com/) BNP Paribas (https://www.bnpparibas.at/en/) Citi (https://www.citi.com/) Fitch Ventures (https://www.fitch.group/) JP Morgan (https://www.jpmorgan.com/AT/en/about-us) Lloyds Banking Group Notion Capital (https://www.notion.vc/) Talis Capital (https://taliscapital.com/)

28.11.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 49 |

2022

Sweden-based Einride bags €475.5M to accelerate deployment of sustainable freight mobility

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 475.5M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: AMF (http://www.amf-capital.de/start.html) EQT Ventures (https://eqtventures.com/) Norrsken VC (https://www.norrsken.vc/) Northzone (https://northzone.com/) Polar Structure (https://polarstructure.se/) Temasek Holdings (https://www.temasek.com.sg/en/index)

21.11.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 48 |

2022

Crypto market maker Keyrock raises $72 million

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 72M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Middlegame Ventures (https://www.middlegamevc.com/) Ripple (https://ripple.com/) SIX FinTech Ventures (https://www.six-group.com/en/company/innovation/start-ups.html)

14.11.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 47 |

2022

Atom Bank has pushed back its flotation by at least two years after tapping backers for another £30 million, giving it a post-deal valuation of £460 million

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: GBP 30M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: BBVA (https://www.bbva.com/en/) Toscafund (https://www.toscafund.com/)

07.11.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 46 |

2022

Matter Labs, the company behind zkSync, raises $200 million to scale Ethereum

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 200M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Andreessen Horowitz (https://a16z.com/) Blockchain Capital (https://blockchain.capital/) Dragonfly (https://www.dragonfly.xyz/) Lightspeed Venture Partners (https://lsvp.com/) Variant (https://variant.fund/)

31.10.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 45 |

2022

Another nail in the photographers’ coffin as PhotoRoom develops $19 million

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 19M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Adjacent (https://adjacent.com/) Balderton Capital (https://www.balderton.com/) Hugging Face (https://huggingface.co/) Meta (https://about.meta.com/)

24.10.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 44 |

2022

Lisbon-based RealFevr scores €10 million to lead football into the NFT era

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 10M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Siegerlandfonds (https://www.siegerlandfonds.de/) Earlybird Venture Capital (http://earlybird.com/)

17.10.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 43 |

2022

Neoplants has raised more than $20 million in funding

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 20M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Collaborative Fund (https://collabfund.com/) Entrepreneur First (https://www.joinef.com/) Heartcore Capital (https://www.heartcore.com/) Niklas Zennström True Ventures (https://trueventures.com/)

10.10.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 42 |

2022

Munich-based vacation rental company Holidu secures €100M, eyes expansion

Founded: 2014

Investment Raised: EUR 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 83North (https://www.83north.com/) Common Fund (https://www.commonfund.org/) coparion (https://www.coparion.vc/) EQT Ventures (https://eqtventures.com/) HV Capital (https://www.hvcapital.com/) LIOS Ventures (https://lios.vc/) Northzone (https://northzone.com/) Possible Ventures (https://www.possible.ventures/) Prime Ventures (https://www.primeventures.com/) Senovo (https://senovo.vc/) Vintage Investment Partners (https://www.vintage-ip.com/)

03.10.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 41 |

2022

Blockchain development platform Tatum nabs $41.5M to untangle Web3

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 41.5M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 3VC (https://three.vc/) Christian Trummer Circle (https://www.circle.com/en/) DEPO Ventures (https://depoventures.com/) Eric Demuth Evolution Equity Partners (https://evolutionequity.com/) LeadBlock Partners (https://leadblockpartners.com/) Octopus Ventures (https://octopusventures.com/) Paul Klanschek Tensor Ventures (https://tensor.ventures/)

26.09.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 40 |

2022

Spanish cybersecurity startup IriusRisk secures €29 million to automate threat modelling

Founded: 2015

Investment Raised: EUR 29M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 360 Capital (https://www.360cap.vc/) Bright Pixel (https://brpx.com/) Inveready (https://inveready.com/) Paladin Capital Group (https://www.paladincapgroup.com/) Swanlaab Venture Factory

12.09.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 38 |

2022

Andreessen Horowitz leads London fintech Sequence’s $19m seed round

Founded: 2022

Investment Raised: USD 19M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: 9Yards Capital (https://9yards.vc/) Andreessen Horowitz (https://a16z.com/) Crew Capital (https://crew.vc/) Dig Ventures (https://www.dig.ventures/) Fin Capital (https://fin.capital/) Firstminute Capital (https://www.firstminute.capital/) Passion Capital (https://www.passioncapital.com/) Salesforce Ventures (https://salesforceventures.com/)

05.09.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 37 |

2022

NEUMAN & ESSER and Ballard invest €50m in QUANTRON and establish a Hydrogen Alliance for a 360° H2 Ecosystem

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: EUR 50M €

EUR 200M

Valuation

Investors: Ballard Power Systems (https://www.ballard.com/) Neuman & Esser (https://www.neuman-esser.de/)

29.08.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 36 |

2022

Planted gets $72M to put whole cuts of vegan chicken on Europe’s menu

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 72M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: ACE & Company (https://aceandcompany.com/) Be8 Ventures (https://www.be8.vc/) ETH Zurich Foundation (https://ethz-foundation.ch/) Gullspång Re

22.08.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 35 |

2022

Berlin’s topi raises $45 million in new funding round, reveals hardware-as-a-service platform for retailers and manufacturers

Founded: 2021

Investment Raised: USD 45M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Creandum (https://www.creandum.com/) Index Ventures (https://www.indexventures.com/)

15.08.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 34 |

2022

Celonis rakes in $1 billion at $13 billion valuation to combat supply chain challenges

Founded: 2011

Investment Raised: USD 1B €

USD 13B

Valuation

Investors: 83North (https://www.83north.com/) Accel (https://www.accel.com/) Activant Capital (https://www.activantcapital.com/) Alta Park Capital (https://www.altaparkcapital.com/) Arena Holdings (https://arenaholdings.com/) Common Fund (https://www.commonfund.org/) Durable Capital Partners (https://www.durablecap.com/) Franklin Templeton (https://www.franklintempleton.at/) Neuberger Berman Group (https://www.nb.com/en/global/who-we-are) Qatar Investment Authority (https://www.qia.qa/en/Pages/default.aspx) Sator Grove Holdings (https://www.satorgrove.com/) T. Rowe Price (https://www.troweprice.com/corporate/at/en/home.html) TCV (https://www.tcv.com/)

08.08.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 33 |

2022

Luminovo Raises €11M in Seed Funding

Founded: 2020

Investment Raised: EUR 11M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Chalfen Ventures (https://www.chalfenventures.com/) Cherry Ventures (https://www.cherry.vc/) Khadjavi Capital Partners (https://www.khadjavi-capital.com/) La Famiglia (https://www.lafamiglia.vc/) Tencent (https://www.tencent.com/en-us/) Verve Ventures (https://www.verve.vc/)

01.08.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 32 |

2022

Vector Biopharma closes $30M series A round to support new gene therapy vector

Founded: 2021

Investment Raised: USD 30M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Versant Ventures (https://www.versantventures.com/)

25.07.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 31 |

2022

Nexeon Raises Over $200m to Fund Battery Materials Manufacturing

Founded: 2006

Investment Raised: USD 200M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Daishin Securities (https://eng.daishin.com/group/en/company/intro/overview.html) Gly Capital Management (https://glycm.com/) Ischyros New York (https://www.ischyrosnewyork.com/) Shinhan Investment (http://www.shinhangroup.com/en/introduce/groupIntroduce1_03.jsp)

18.07.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 30 |

2022

Atlantic Money, a London-based low-cost money transfer service, has secured an additional injection of $3M seed capital to accelerate its growth having recently received its EU licence.

Founded: 2021

Investment Raised: USD 3 Millions €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Amplo (https://www.linkedin.com/company/amplovc/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_company_admin%3Bwtof1xeYRP6FhgpgU2u0yA%3D%3D) Nordstar (https://www.linkedin.com/company/nordstar/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_company_admin%3Bwtof1xeYRP6FhgpgU2u0yA%3D%3D) Martell Hardenberg (https://www.linkedin.com/in/ACoAAAdYMogBKF7BJ6R_W_LB-f6Uj-MoL73FFN4) Index Ventures (https://www.linkedin.com/company/index-ventures/) Ribbit Capital (https://www.linkedin.com/company/ribbit-capital/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_company_admin%3BgH1ds%2Fq8TsWJ%2F6AppiK2Dg%3D%3D) Kleiner Perkins.

11.07.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 29 |

2022

Contentsquare Closes $600M Growth Investment Round Led by Sixth Street; Doubles Valuation to $5.6B and Brings Total Funding to $1.4 Billion

Founded: 2012

Investment Raised: USD 400M €

USD 5.2B

Valuation

Investors: BlackRock (https://www.blackrock.com/at) Bpifrance (https://www.bpifrance.com/) Canaan Partners (https://www.canaan.com/) Eurazeo (https://www.eurazeo.com/en) Highland Europe (https://www.highlandeurope.com/) Kohlberg Kravis Roberts (https://www.kkr.com/) LionTree (https://www.liontree.com/) Sixth Street (https://sixthstreet.com/) SoftBank Vision Fund (https://visionfund.com/)

04.07.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 28 |

2022

Barcelona’s Impress heads toward a $125M Series B round in its bid to digitize orthodontics

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 125M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Claret Capital Partners (https://www.claret-capital.com/) LBO France (https://www.lbofrance.com/) Media Digital Ventures (http://www.mediadigitalventures.com/) Nickleby Capital (https://nicklebycapital.com/) Norgine Ventures (https://norgineventures.com/) TA Ventures (https://taventures.vc/) UNIQA Ventures (https://www.uniqaventures.com/)

27.06.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 27 |

2022

YuLife picks up $120M at an $800M valuation for gamified, wellness-focused life insurance

Founded: 2016

Investment Raised: USD 120M €

USD 800M

Valuation

Investors: Anthemis Exponential Ventures (https://www.anthemis.com/) Creandum (https://www.creandum.com/) Dai-ichi Life (https://www.dai-ichi-life.co.jp/english/) Eurazeo (https://www.eurazeo.com/en) Latitude (https://www.latitudeim.com/) LocalGlobe (https://localglobe.vc/) MMC Ventures (https://mmc.vc/) Notion Capital (https://www.notion.vc/) OurCrowd (https://www.ourcrowd.com/) Target Global (https://www.targetglobal.vc/)

20.06.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 26 |

2022

MiroBio raises $97 million in Series B financing

Founded: 2019

Investment Raised: USD 97M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Advent Life Sciences (https://www.adventls.com/) Medicxi (https://www.medicxi.com/) Monograph Capital (https://monograph.bio/) OrbiMed (https://www.orbimed.com/) Oxford Sciences Innovation (https://oxfordscienceenterprises.com/) Samsara BioCapital (https://www.samsaracap.com/) SR One (https://www.srone.com/)

13.06.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 25 |

2022

SumUp raises $624M at $8.5B valuation, with its payments and business tech now used by 4M SMBs

Founded: 2011

Investment Raised: USD 624M €

USD 8.5B

Valuation

Investors: Bain Capital Tech Opportunities (https://www.baincapitaltechopportunities.com/) BlackRock (https://www.blackrock.com/at) btov Partners (https://btov.vc/) Centerbridge Partners LP (https://www.centerbridge.com/) Crestline (https://www.crestlineinvestors.com/) FIN Capital (https://fin.capital/) Sentinel Capital Partners (https://www.sentinelpartners.com/)

06.06.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 24 |

2022

CoachHub Raises $200M Series C, Led by Sofina and SoftBank Vision Fund 2 to Democratize Coaching Worldwide

Founded: 2018

Investment Raised: USD 200M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: HV Capital (https://www.hvcapital.com/) Molten Ventures (https://www.moltenventures.com/) RTP Global (https://rtp.vc/) signals Venture Capital (https://signals.vc/) Sofina (https://www.sofinagroup.com/) SoftBank Vision Fund (https://visionfund.com/) Speedinvest (https://www.speedinvest.com/) SVB Capital (https://www.svb.com/svb-capital)

30.05.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 23 |

2022

Nfinite raises $100 million series B to extend leadership in immersive 3d e-commerce and e-merchandising categories

Founded: 2017

Investment Raised: USD 100M €

Valuation Remains Undisclosed

Investors: Insight Partners (https://www.insightpartners.com/) U.S. Venture Partners (https://www.usvp.com/)

23.05.2022

Deal of the Week |

Calendar Week # 22 |

2022

Rimac raises $537 million in new funding round, CEO talks potential IPO

Founded: 2009

Investment Raised: EUR 500M €

EUR 1.5B

Valuation

Investors: Goldman Sachs (https://www.goldmansachs.com/) Porsche (https://www.porsche.at/) SoftBank Vision Fund (https://visionfund.com/)